Seven Horses of Lord Sun (Surya Dev)

5 Min Read

While the Sun God is often depicted as riding a chariot pulled by seven horses, guided by the charioteer Aruna, this image raises many questions. Understanding the deeper meaning behind this symbolism requires delving into Vedic scriptures, Puranas, and other ancient texts. By exploring these sources, we can gain a more profound understanding of the Sun God, his chariot, and the significance of the seven horses.

सप्ताश्व रथमारूढम् प्रचंडम् कश्यपात्मजम् |
श्वेत पद्मधरम् देवम् तम् सूर्यम् प्रणमाम्यहम् ||

Suryashtakam, 2nd mantra

The Sanātana dharma considers Āditya/Sūrya/Bhānu as a form of the Vedas, the Ṛgyajussāmapāragaḥ (Āditya Hṛudayam, 13th Mantra). The seven horses pulling the chariot of the Sun God are the Vedic meters (chandas) viz., Gayatri, Brihati, Ushnih, Jagati, Trishtubha, Anushtubha, and Pankti. as revealed in the Veda Saṃhitas and later in Viṣṇu and Sūrya Purāṇas. Hanuman and Yājñavalkya seer became the Vedic students under Guru Sūrya Bhagavān due to their devotion.

The essential seven elements that constitute the human body are the skin, blood, flesh, fat, bone, marrow and semen, and this body chariots these elements. Āditya Paramātma is the in the form of consciousness that manages these elements (Garuḍa Purāṇa 15 (27, 62); Śārṅgadhara Saṃhita 1-5-12).

If you consider the modern Scientific explanation, you can say that the white light emitted by the Sun God consists of 7 (VIBGYOR ) of the constituent colours of the White light, namely : Violet, Indigo, Blue, Green, Yellow, Orange, and Red.

सप्त त्वा हरितो रथे वहन्ति देव सूर्य I (RigVeda 1.50.8)

Rudras are the Eleven immortals created by God Shiva. Since Shiva is the creator or head of these 11 Rudras, Shiva is referred as Rudra. The eleven Rudras are Kapali, Pingala, Bhima, Virupaksha, Vilohita, Ajesha, Shasana, Shasta, Shambu, Chanda and Dhruva.

Prajapathi Daksha had total 62 daughters, and Sage Kashyapa married 13 sisters and Diti and Aditi were among them. The children born to Diti and Sage Kashyapa were the Daitya (demons ). The children born to Aditi and sage Kashyapa are Adityas ( devas or Gods).

The 12 Adityas are described in the RigVeda as solar dieties. The twelve Adityas are Vishnu, Sakra, Aryaman, Dhaataa, Vidhaataa, Twashtaa, Pooshaa, Vivaswaan, Savitaa, Mitraavarun, Ansa and Bhaga.

In the Vedas, Surya Deva is the most powerful and in the top Deities along with Sri Rudra, Vishnu, and Brahmanaspati (Ganesha). Even the Hiraynagarbha Suktam can be interpreted for Surya as he is also known as Hiraynagarbha.

Suryadev’s going around the earth on a chariot with 7 horses (VIBGYOR) is allegorical, as we observe from the earth. VIBGYOR (violet, indigo, blue, green, yellow, orange and red) is orderly distributed colours of the white light found in the visible spectrum produced by a prism by refracting and dispersing the incident white light.

Red has the longest wavelength and the lowest energy – just as with objects moving away from us, the light loses energy to maintain the light speed and so the light is red-shifted. Violet has the shortest wavelength, and as f = c/λ it has the higher frequency. Violet has the shorter wavelengths (400 nm) and produces highest frequency and energy. Ultra-Violet and Infra-Red is based on frequency, meaning frequencies more than violet is Ultra Violet and frequencies less than that of Red is Infra Red.

The deity Surya is called as All-knowing:

उदु॒ त्यं जा॒तवे᳚दसं दे॒वं व॑हन्ति के॒तवः॑ ।
दृ॒शे विश्वा᳚य॒ सूर्य᳚म् ॥ १.०५०.०१

The all-knowing Sun, the God is carried up by the rays of wisdom so that all may behold him (Rig Veda Samhita, Mandala 1, 50th Suktam). He is the one who creates the light, Surya Deva in the Vedas it not a the ball of hot plasma rather he is the supreme light of the Brahman.

Share This Article